search
Home > Portland jobs > Portland trades & labor jobs

Posted: Tuesday, October 17, 2017 12:07 AM

Reply

Description:

Hi, my name is Dallas. I am looking for short-term employment in an outdoor setting (dude or working ranch, kennel, etc.). I am also interested housesitting/dogsitting opportunities.

I work for a National Forest on the Oregon coast as a permanent wildland firefighter, which means there is an off season. I work about half the year normally. I’d like to find a good fit that perhaps I can return to in the future years.

I am available from mid-November until the end of February, as this year I will be required to attend fire academy in March.
I have a Bachelors’ degree, I have served 8 years in the Air Force as a Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear defense (CBRN) Technician. I have been with the Forest Service for 4 seasonal years; two seasons in wildland fire, one season as a Visitor Information Services Specialist, and one full unpaid season for college credit as a Botany Technician.

I am unattached and I like it that way. I don’t smoke or do drugs and I have reliable transportation.

SKILLS/QUALITIES
As a wildland firefighter, I basically dig dirt for a living. Therefore, I don’t mind hard work. I can buck trees, clean rooms, cook a decent meal, and build an excel spreadsheet, to name a few. I pride myself in my acquired customer service skills. The primary quality I ‘bring to the table’ is that I take pride and ownership in what I do. I treat the tools and facilities I use with care, and treat others with respect. I learn quickly and enjoy working with people and animals, and don’t have any limitations to what I am willing to do with concern to livestock care, feeding, etc.

PERSONAL GOALS
One of my long term goals is to open a boarding facility for dogs, where it becomes lucrative enough to then provide a rescue program. I’d like to learn more about the business practices of a boarding facility.
I’d also like to learn more about ranching practices in general. Hard work in open country is my ideal setting, no matter where it takes me. I don’t ride horses often enough to remember the finer points of tacking up, but I feel comfortable in riding and building a respectful relationship with a horse. I have tried lunging and would like to practice it more. That said, I’m not horse obsessed. I’d like to learn about different livestock and day-to-day operations.

CONTACT
If you are interested and would like to know more about my work history and specific skills, please contact me and I will gladly send you a resume with references.

Thank you,
Dallas B.

Willing to travel

Phone:: 503-327-1026 (texts are ok)
Email:: bdsblue@gmail.com

Experience Horseback Riding:: 1-5 Years
Experience Cow/Calves: None
Experience Roping: None
Experience Calving: None
Experience Fencing: None
Experience Cook/Chef: 1-5 Years
Experience at Dude/Guest Ranch: None
Experience Front Office / Administrative: 5-10 Years
Need Room & Board?: Maybe
What States Are You Willing to Move To?: NM, AZ, TX, GA, TN, AR, UT, NC, SC

• Location: Portland

• Post ID: 23312897 portland
portland.backpage.com is an interactive computer service that enables access by multiple users and should not be treated as the publisher or speaker of any information provided by another information content provider. © 2017 backpage.com